Looking Ahead…

In a few days, I’ll be getting on a plane for my first trip to Rockhill, South Carolina, for the US Elite Track National Championships. Last year, I competed at the Elite Timed Nationals, and I skipped Mass start, for a chance to race over in Germany for two weeks, and then up to Canada as well, so I’m really excited for my first opportunity to race at a new track, and give it a go to become the match sprint and keirin elite national champion this year!

Since my last post, I’m excited to say that I have been named to the 2014 US Team for the Pan American Track Championships, which will be held in Aguascalientes, Mexico in September! I finished up my 2013 Pan Ams as 4th in the keirin, 4th in the team sprint, 6th in the match sprints, and 6th in the 500m, and I’m definitely ready to step it up this year and come home with some medals! I’ll be the only sprinting racing all four sprint events available, the 500m, team sprint, keirin, and match sprint. As the first olympic qualifying event, it’s now or never!

dsc_0068.jpg
2013 Pan Am Championships Flying 200m

Yesterday I raced in the LAVRA Sprint Open p/b Momentum Coaching Group and had a ton of fun. Sprint races in LA are few and far between, so I couldn’t resist it! The sprint tournament was a mix of juniors, men, women, and masters! It was a great opportunity to race against new people, lots of boys, and learn a few new tricks. I qualified 8th, and made it through two rounds to the 1/8th finals. I ended up taking 6th place overall, with some solid rides straight through!

Here are some great photos taken by Vance MacDonald and Julio Hernandez!

Thanks for all your support! I’m very excited for nationals, as well as the Pan Am Championships. I’m going to be a head case, racing nationals not tapered, but I’ll give it my all, knowing I’ll be racing for valuable olympic qualifying points only a few shorts weeks later. Thank you for all the donations and words of encouragement, it keeps me going everyday, throughout all the training sessions and down times!

Leave a Reply

