Ride with U.S. : Missy Erickson

2014-01-24 13.10.20-1A few days ago I was blessed with the opportunity of being 1 of 9 female US cyclists selected for a USAC RallyMe Matching Grant fundraiser. 
My RallyMe campaign is getting an extra boost thanks to a dedicated matching grant provided by the USA Cycling Development Foundation. That means for every dollar I raise on RallyMe, it will be doubled up to $2,500. With your support I could raise at least $5,000 to help pay for travel and training costs for the 2014 racing season.

Combined with my already well established GoFundMe account, this opportunity will give me a much needed security that my racing endeavors this summer can be reached, and I have a better chance to qualify and race to my potential at world cups this upcoming season.

In the last three days, I have reached 47% of my goal, and raised over $1,000! Thank you Kari and Yeshua, Sue Thelen, Elaine, Matthew Diefenbach, James Kloss, Joe, GiroJenny, Bob and Fail Francis, Timothy Hall, Bill Kerig, and 4 other anonymous donors!

Please click on this link to be taken to my USAC RallyMe Fundraising Page: https://www.rallyme.com/rallies/47/missy-erickson

Here is a preview of my page:

FOCUSED 110% FOR RIO 2016

My name is Missy Erickson and I am 23 years old. After graduating from Fort Lewis College in 2012 with my bachelor’s degree in Exercise Science, I moved to Los Angeles with the mission of becoming a track sprint athlete. In under 1.5 years, I became the 500m and team sprint national champion, set two US track records, and set a US National record. I am the #1 ranked US female track sprinter, and currently the only standing member of the national team. I am 100% committed to bringing home gold at the Rio 2016 Olympics, but in order to do this, I need to train full time to be successful. This is why I am asking for your support to become part of my Olympic journey.

2014-2016 Goals

– Medal 2016 Rio Olympics
– Pan Am Games Champion
– Top 3 World Championships
– Top 3 World Cup
– Pan Am Champion

My Story and Why I Love Racing

I fell in love with track cycling while listening to M.I.A.’s “Paper Planes” over the loud speakers at the 7-Eleven Velodrome in Colorado Springs. After racing track and cyclocross briefly in college, with a full commitment to the collegiate road program, and racing for the Kowalski’s Collegiate All-Star team in 2011, I had decided I wanted to devote my attention to track sprinting, and waiting until I graduated in April of 2012 to fully commit to a training program. In May of 2012, I moved to Los Angeles and began training at the Velo Sports Center alongside Jamie Staff and the US National Team. In less than 8 months, I became one of two females to meet the US National Team time standard and was selected to represent the US at the Pan American Championships and set a US National Record. In under 1.5 years, I became the 500m and team sprint national champion, and set two US track records. Now, less than two years later, I am the #1 ranked US female track sprinter, and currently the only standing member of the national team.

There is no greater feeling for me than to race my bike. In two years I’ve accomplished more than I thought I would have, and I am 100% percent dedicated to getting a medal in the Rio 2016 Olympics. I have been shown more support and love from those around me, and it helps me push on through the toughest of days. I love the pain and seeing my hard work pay off. I love setting goals and crushing them. But most importantly, I love achieving my dreams and hearing how they have inspired others.

Ride With U.S. Matching Grant
My RallyMe campaign is getting an extra boost thanks to a dedicated matching grant provided by the USA Cycling Development Foundation. That means for every dollar I raise on RallyMe, it will be doubled up to $2,500. I was one of 10 elite U.S. women cyclists chosen by a selection committee of USA Cycling coaches and staff to take part in this matching grant program. With your support I could raise at least $5,000 to help pay for travel and training costs for the 2014 racing season.

My Team and Support
USA Cycling
United States Olympic Committee
Women’s Sports Foundation
Atomic High Performance
DZnuts
CNP Performance
ERO Sports
RaceVista
Felt Bicycles
Momentum Coaching Group
Oxygen Fitness

Mike and Michelle Pierce, Bill and Dawn Erickson, Jeff Pyatt, John Barron, Ingrid Alongi, Vera Divenyi, Sherry Berde Townsend, Paul Day, Scott Carothers, Megan Hottman, Jim Maher, Terry and Vicki Anderson, Pete Shirk, Scott Nelson, Claire Sanderson, Cory Funk, Lindsay Craig, Wes Archuleta, Katie Stonebraker, Shelly McKee, Mason Swier, Gary Burkholder, Todd Spargo, Dean Dainsberg, Justin Neely, Doug Krinsky, Nathan Kelly, Rob Klausch, Jim Varaitis, Charlie Anderson, Richard Schlepphorst, Mark and Noreen Tyson, Shannon Moak, Dana and Jessica Sundby, Doug Evans, Nancy Lux, Ann Goldberg, Eileen Eiser, Sue Allen, Steph Wagner, Jim Allen, Scott and Vicki Johnston, Del Mari Runck, Tom Lynch, Shannon Kempf, Brian Grove, Tom and Mary Jane Rief, Christophe Le Lan, Sky Christopherson, Erika Fulk, James Ernster, Robert Walston, Andrew Weathers, Rick Crawford, Amy Williams, Jon Shapiro, Marsha Bouchard, Sheridan Bauman, Tim Hall, Laura Karl, Alan Buday, Mark Loftus, Sergio Aguirre, David, Bob and Gail Francis, Mitch Sako, Steve Mitchell, Michael McKinney, Kari Szentesi, Steve Lindell

Quick Attached, Elden’s Food Fair, Mastercraft Salon, Cornerstone Chiropractic, Rocket Auto Electric, Sweet Seasons, The Peak Supper Club, Tastefully Simple, Ben Franklin, Juettner Motors, Henry’s Foods, Creative Touch, Karrow Jewelers, A Darling Gift Shop at Arrowwood Resort, Trumm Drug, Cowing Robards, Charlie’s Bazaar, Subway of Alexanria, Chef Wayne and Carol Wiken, Randy’s Menswear, Endless Summer, Dr. Dean Anderson, D Michael B’s, Runestone Eye Care, The Bike and Fitness Company, Bee Active, Quick Left, Sac Valley Velorome Association, Velostuf.com, cyclist-lawyer.com

Other Ways To Help
You can help my campaign and increase awareness for my fundraiser by sharing this link on twitter, Facebook, Instagram, or your personal blogs. This is an incredibly opportunity put in place by the USA Cycling Development Foundation and it is my goal to race a minimum of $2500, to be matched. Thank you for sharing, donating, and supporting.

Leave a Reply

