welcome back home

It’s been a week now since I moved away from Colorado Springs. In some ways it feels like only yesterday, and in others, it feels like I never left. Being back in California feels like home. This is where I made everything happen. This is where I came to chase my dream. This is where my “family” is. The grass isn’t always greener on the other side. And that is why I’m back. It was time for change. Time to be reminded what I want, why I’m doing this, and what’s important to me. I have family here at Velocity, at work, in my neighborhood, in my friends. Real friends. People who are fighting just as hard as I am.

Before I moved last time, I was told “You always have a choice.” At the time, I didn’t feel like I did. But they were right, I did. And I made my choice. The more I go along in this life, the more I find myself growing and the more lessons I learn. I’ve found the place I need to be. If it means I have to work late nights, get two jobs, and miss a holiday with my family, I’ll remember my two brothers who give up months at a time to fight for my ability to chase my dreams. They say if you want something bad enough, you’ll do everything in your power to fight for it. I’m giving it everything I know how. I’m thrilled to be back in Cali. Judge me as you must, but I missed this place.

1393892_10200816658400041_95714424_n“Do what you feel in your heart to be right – for you’ll be criticized anyway.” – Eleanor Roosevelt

Leave a Reply

