Mr. and Mrs. Burnett

362_1014879253511_5195_n

It’s amazing to look back on my years at Fort Lewis, and try to imagine them without you two. The tall thin handsome track pursuiter from Durango, and the blonde blue-eyed outgoing beautiful babe from Connecticut. You two helped and watched me  grow up. As a person, as an athlete. You encouraged me, and in a way, protected me. Like my big brother and sister. You helped me go from a sheltered shy freshman to an outgoing graduate. I never knew sitting on the couch in the morning drinking coffee and watching the Price is Right could be some of the best moments in my life. You two became my family. You chilled me out when I threw a fit. You dealt with my screams and tears of terror when my hair turned that hideous shade of mermaid green. I found the missing links to my life: Keeping up with the Kardashians, toddlers and Tiaras, and of course, the Jersey Shore. Allie’s 22nd birthday party is still one of the greatest nights of my life, not to mention the Swedish Meatball Halloween escapade. You two changed my life. Mostly, you opened it up. I probably won’t ever spoon in the middle of a couple ever again, in their own bed. I found my love of track cycling by traveling to Colorado Springs with Ian, and spending two years going to elite nationals with him, even earning my first podium, with a “real” medal.

8232_673384026043_8060802_n

I couldn’t be there on your graduation, the night Ian proposed. And I can’t come visit you when I want too, and now I can’t be there for the biggest moment in your life. My insides are turning when I think about it. I’ve been looking forward to this day since we met, and spent hours watching “Say yes to the dress”, being hideous critics. You’re grown up now. In one week you’ll be married. I’ve missed out on so much. I can’t think of two people who are more fun, loving, caring, amazing, beautiful, made for one another… I’m being a selfish dumb bike racer, chasing a nearly impossible dream, instead of witnessing one of the greatest moments in life.

306995_2022937174329_465646439_n

Allie, I can only imagine how beautiful you are going to be walking down that aisle. I know you’re going to be crying. Tyler’s going to be standing tall and proud, with the little smirk on his face that he gets. Ian’s going to be amazed by your beauty, and have the worlds biggest grin on his face, and start laughing at you as you giggle through your tears. Like when you watch grey’s anatomy on the couch, spilling your coffee all over the place. I can’t imagine a dad more proud of his beautiful girl, and a mom with more of a glow on her face.

I love you two. You mean the world to me. If I could, I would marry you myself, but that would just be creepy. I can’t imagine my life without you two in it. We might not talk all the time, but you’re still the first people I want to talk to. You’re still the ones I want to run home and tell, “I WIN!”, or “I DIDN’T FAIL MY TEST!” You’re still the ones I want to make me a sandwich when I’m drunk, and scrambled eggs and chocolate milk when I come home from a weekend of racing.

604074_4730556383117_894244535_nI wish you nothing but happiness and love. I know you already have it, but I wish for it to continue, through everything. I can’t wait to see you both, check out that rock on Allie’s finger, and see your silver twinkie of a house. I want to thank you, for always being there for me, for taking care of me, for never doubting me. I’m so sorry I can’t do the same for you right now. I couldn’t have asked for two better people to have been introduced into my life. I can’t wait to see where life takes you two, see your wedding pictures, and cuddle in bed again.

In a week, you will forever be, Mr. and Mrs. Burnett. And I’m so proud to say I knew you when….

227098_4487644944241_1936349020_n

Leave a Reply

