US Grand Prix of Sprinting

The weekend is over, and all I want to do is sleep. This was my second UCI event, (the first being the 2013 Pan American championships), and the keirin was first. My favorite event, and my target for this years world cups. Riders from the US, Guatemala, Ecuador, and Mexico were present for the women. Having a UCI race in my own backyard is super awesome. The athletes I have met at the training center came out to support Kevin and I during the races, and to see exactly what “track sprinting” is.

988636_10200786564844253_791225556_n
The Major Final Keirin Line-Up

 

Womens Keirin Final
The photo finish for the keirin final between me and the Mexico rider

 

I took 2nd in the keirin. A result I am proud of, and happy about. It would have been great to bring home the win, but I still scored a good amount of points towards world cup qualifying.

BPEuTUFCEAMMQgZ.jpg-large

In the 200 on Saturday morning, I qualified 1st, with a time on 11.28. I was .2 faster than the second qualifier, which was a rider from Mexico. Unfortunately, my speed doesn’t match up with my racing ability in the match sprints just yet, and I didn’t make it past the first round. I won the 5-8 final though, and thus, ended up in 5th place. One of these days…

Screen Shot 2013-07-12 at 11.26.33 PM

I woke up the next morning to find out all the money in both my savings and checking accounts have been stolen by someone in Romania, and have had all my cards put on hold. Luckily, I have access to the Olympic Training Center for food and resources, so my life hasn’t completely been put on hold.

I am incredibly proud of myself for the 2nd place in the keirin, and for qualifying 1st in the 200m. I’m seeing all my hard work come together and seeing it all pay off. Thank you to my team, Momentum Coaching Group p/b Atomic High Performance for the team kit. This was my first race in it, and I felt pretty cool 🙂 . Thanks to my sponsors for the continued support and helping me make these incredible gains. And to all those who have donated in helping me pursue this dream.

Marymoor is all about having fun, making some money, and riding fast. I’m excited to get on a plane, meet some more people, and try not to get beat up by Sarah Hammer in the sprint events 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

