From the Bottom of my Heart

I have so many people to thank. From the people who donated items for the silent auction, to my mom and Claudia for organizing it, to the Bike and Fitness Company for hosting it, to the people who came and gave up their time to talk to me and put their own personal money towards funding my dream…thank you. From the bottom of my heart. I am honored, and blessed, and speechless, by the number of you who came and who have helped me get where I am today.

I chose the Bike and Fitness Company because that is where I started. I picked up my first road bike there, and I attended every single Tuesday Night Worlds ride I could, all the way through high school until I left college. The Odio family brought me up in cycling, and my parents spent a good chunk of their paychecks in that shop funding my silly dreams. The people who taught me to ride, sprint, climb (ok maybe not really), rode with me from that place, and helped me claim 3 junior national championship medals when I only ride for 2-3 months out of the year (gotta love Minnesota). It seemed fitting that I wouldn’t pick any place else.

Saturday was the busiest. With some many people coming in and out of the store, on such a cold and windy afternoon, I was amazed by the support that kept coming. Near and Far. Those who knew me, but I had no met. Long time friends, to ones I now have. It’s amazing what a simple party can do to bring up ones spirit.

In total, we’ve raised over $2000 to help fund my travels. I’m amazed by the generosity of so many. I hope I’ve inspired others to keep chasing their dreams, and realizing that big things can truly come from little Alexandria. I want to thank everyone who has taken part in both of my fundraisers, from organizing, to donating, to attending. Your presence was appreciated more than you know. I can’t wait to make you proud.

1236_10151453323677896_856799643_n

One thought on “From the Bottom of my Heart

Leave a Reply

