Elite Track National Championships

On May 9, 2012, the day of my 22nd birthday, I moved to LA. That was 4 months and 3 weeks ago. I’m sitting here on the couch the day afterward, trying to think of a way to recap my racing, but all I can think about is the people who helped me get here, and how incredibly proud I am of what I’ve accomplished in such a short amount of time.

3rd 500m – Elite Track Nationals

5th Match Sprints – Elite Track Nationals
2nd Team Sprint – Elite Track Nationals

I dropped 3 seconds off my 500m time from last year. I dropped 1 whole second off my 200m time as well. I qualified 3rd in the flying 200m, took my first round match sprint to three rides, won the 5-8 final, won the minor final of the keirin, and succeeded in not throwing up every morning. I’m so thankful for all the people who have stepped up to support me these past few months. I don’t come from a “home track”. There’s a small army pushing me forward, and I appreciate every single word of encouragement that I receive. Moving to LA was the greatest decision I’ve made. I can’t wait to see what happens in the next 4 months.

And now, I’ll  be taking some time off, heading home to see my family, be part of my mom’s wedding, see some old friends, and get ready to come back and hit it hard again. All or nothing. The road to rio has started.

