It’s the little things in life.

I just wrote this sentence:

“The hypothesis stating, “wearing no compression will result in an increased BP when compared to wearing compression garments” was proven correct, as the BP of wearing no compression equaled a 24.9/4.3 difference, when compared to the 22.91/2.5 and 23.2/2.25 difference of wearing half and full compression respectively, as seen in Figure 1.2 in the appendix.”

And I had to stop. Because, it is this sentence that has given my senior seminar its first, and probably only, bit of humor. I realized, “Wow, my paper has an APPENDIX!”

And then I also realized, “Ok, Missy, you need to stop. Now.”

I’m knee-deep in informed consents, health questionnaires, figures and charts, and tables, and measurements, and data, and schedules… Unlike many other senior seminar projects on campus, the exercise science department has a required two semester long senior seminar, worth less than my internship, but consuming more hours than any part-time job I have ever held.

I’ve officially finished testing everyone. I can’t thank those 12 people who completed my study enough for letting me torture them with plyometrics and then invade their privacy with limb measurements. I’m sure I popped a few comfort bubbles, but I don’t think I scarred anyone too horribly. But with testing done, now it’s back to the paper writing, data analyzing, graph making, and table forming, part of the study. It isn’t all fun and games. I had fun watching people flop around like flying squirrels while attempting to do slams and jumps, but now I won’t be doing anything involving jumping or flopping while I sit in bed drinking grape juice writing the longest, most scientific paper of my life.

My senior seminar was designed to research the effects of compression on training, mostly with explosive power training, but my title doesn’t exactly say that, because when I first developed it, I still didn’t know exactly what I was testing. It’s amazing to watch something that I’ve built from the ground up come together and actually produce results and either prove my hypothesis correct or incorrect. Which of those two it is, I’m not quite sure, at least at this moment.

But, back to this appendix. In anatomy terms, its part of the digestive system. I know that, because of human anatomy, which I took my sophomore year, and barely managed to squeeze through. “An offshoot of the beginning of the large intestines, full of microflora, natural “good bacteria”, which can “reboot” your system by restoring and replenishing the microflora if a pathogen wipes it out” (And yes, I just took this from Wikipedia). My appendix doesn’t resemble this whatsoever, it’s more like….pretty graphs and charts that help visual learners like myself, take a sentence like I wrote above and be able to ingest it in english terminology. This appendix is colorful, and large, and full of information I know you are just dying to look at! Regardless, both vital organs? I think so. Although I suppose some people are living without their appendix, and some papers also live without appendices. But, I can tell you one thing, no person can live without a heart, and this paper is beginning to feel like it doesn’t have one. No matter how much love I give it, not much is returned. Although, come April, it will give me a degree, that is, if I treat it right.

With that, I’m going to take this paper and it’s appendix and put it to bed for the night. And I’m going to take myself and do the same. I’m staring at my beautiful fuji right now dying to get on it, and I’ll be dreaming about those 59 days I have left until the end of this semester, until the end of this senior seminar, and until I can feel a wood velodrome again. There’s 25 minutes left of this day, and I think I fulfilled it. Good night world.

2 thoughts on “It’s the little things in life.

  1. You’re getting an idea of why I do what I do. Having an idea, building something to test it, adapting it, and contributing new information to the world. Sounds like you’re doing it right. When you start working again rewrite that first sentence, it’s too complicated. Science is complex, the writing should be simple.

Leave a Reply

