The year 2011, in a nut-shell.

First off, this past week, I did the great drive from Durango, CO to Alexandria, MN. The best part of the drive…the scenery.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s unreal what can change in a year. The places you go, the people you meet. 2011 has been an incredible year, just like all the others. Instead of sending out a Christmas letter, I decided to not support the US Postal Service, and just write a post about  “my 2011” and keep some money in that college fund. I’m very blessed to have the people in my life that I do, the opportunities I have had, and also, the means to do what I have done. I’ve been traveling a lot this year, seeing so many new things, being so many new places. And on top of that, starting my final year of college! So without further ado, here we go….

January
Started a new semester with school, began riding on January 10th in Colorado.

Moved out of my dorm and slept on my roommate’s parents basement couch for over a month.

February

Moved into an apartment with my two roommates.

March

….road season started in the RMCCC……won a bunch of crits and road races and team time trials w/FLC Cycling

April
Won both the RMCCC Criterium and Road Race Championship and Individual Omnium for the road season.

May
Got 4th in the criterium, 16th in the road race, and 8th in the D1 omnium at Collegiate Road Nationals, qualifying for the Kowalski’s Markets collegiate all-stars team!

Officially turned 21 years old!

June
Raced in Nature Valley Grand Prix for Collegiate All-Stars. Had team camp in Wisconsin for a week prior to the racing.

Got to ride on the velodrome for the first time since September of last year!

July
Drove 7,000 miles and visited 12 states, took 10 flights, and 1 train ride. Gained a few new family members as my dad got re-married in Florida.

August

Drove around some more, flew around some more.

September
3rd in collegiate nationals points race, 5th in collegiate nationals 500m, 6th in collegiate nationals match sprints….

Started my senior year of college, moved back to Durango, and re-joined my goldfish Gus Gus, Dr. Dre, and the two roomies. Also, Ryder the dog.

October

Placed 3rd at Elite Track Nationals in the Keirin.

November

Started Racing CX (cyclocross, for all you none-cycling people) with Fort Lewis College.

December

Finished finals, drove to Minnesota, and have been here ever since!

I hope this post is long enough for you. I’ve lived to see another christmas come my way, and this time, it’s a rather depressing shade of brown. But, at least I am in the presence of family and a few friends. As far as New Years resolutions go, I chose to live by quotes I like, and things I find motivation from.

1. “Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by Dogma, which is living with the results of other’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.”
-Steve Jobs

2. “If you don’t go after what you want, you’ll never have it.”

3. “Never ever second guess who you are, where you have been, and most importantly, where it is you’re going.”

4. “This life is yours. Take the power to choose what you want to do and do it well. Take the power to love what you want in life and love it honestly. Take the power to walk in the forest and be a part of nature. Take the power to control your own life. No one else can do it for you. Take the power to make your life happy.”

5. “Unless you try to do something beyond what you have already mastered, you will never grow.” -Ralph Waldo Emerson

6. “Life is full of beauty. Notice it. Notice the bumble bee, the small child, and the smiling faces. Smell the rain, and feel the wind. Live your life to the fullest potential, and fight for your dreams.”

7. “After a while, you learn the subtle difference between holding a hand and chaining a soul, and you learn that love doesn’t mean leaning and company doesn’t mean security, and you begin to learn that kisses aren’t contracts and presents aren’t promises, and you begin to accept your defeats with your head up and your eyes open, with the grace of an adult, not the grief of a child, and you learn to build all your roads on today because tomorrow’s ground is too uncertain for plans. After a while you learn that even sunshine burns if you get too much. So plant your own garden and decorate your own soul, instead of waiting for someone to bring you flowers. And you learn that you really can endure… that you really are strong, and you really do have worth.” ~Veronica A. Shoffstall

8. “Be yourself. Above all, let who you are, what you are, what you believe, shine through every sentence you write, every piece you finish.”

9. “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

10. “I like to dream big, and make it happy.” -Carla Swart

On top of all this, I am excited to welcome DeFeet and FSA into my cycling world, as they are my newest sponsors, along with Team Twinsix! Very excited for this season!

So, with all this, I will say, Bring it on 2012. I can’t wait for what’s to come.

One thought on “The year 2011, in a nut-shell.

Leave a Reply

