One Year Ago, Today.

I was certain that when I was ready to get a tattoo, he was the one who was going to do it. I admired his passion for sprinting on the track, and his amazing set of wheels. He always smiled. One day he decided to sport Maddie and I along as a cheerleader, which was rather ridiculous, but we loved it at the same time. Or the way he taught how to say his name, “did you ride a lama-o” said really fast. I still have his winter gloves. He gave them to me to use, because I didn’t have any gloves to begin with. I wore them for a really long time. Summer and winter.  Every time I put them on I think about him.

It’s amazing that even only a few weeks of having someone in your life can make such a big difference. I still want to be as fast as him, have his leg speed, and I’ll never forget his passion for life. When I get on my track bike in a week, the races will be in his name, and I know there will be more laughs, but there will always be a hole he should be filling.

My thoughts and prayers are with his family this week, and everyone who loved him. I miss him, and I’ll never forget him. Just like everyone else I have lost this year, and everything in my life that has changed. It makes everyday worth living to its fullest, and having no regrets.

One year ago, today, he changed all our lives for the last time. Rest in peace, Tony.

One thought on “One Year Ago, Today.

  1. I truly appreciate this post. I’ve been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thank you again! “Every time we remember to say thank you, we experience nothing less than heaven on earth.” by Sarah Ban Breathnach.

Leave a Reply

