Mary Angelou

We delight in the beauty of the butterfly, but rarely admit the changes is has gone through to achieve that beauty.

There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.

I can be changed by what happens to me. But I refuse to be reduced by it.

Success is liking yourself, liking what you do, and liking how you do it.

There is a very fine line between loving life and being greedy for it.

The ache for home lives in all of us, the safe place where we can go as we are and not be questioned.

I want all my senses engaged. Let me absorb the world’s variety and uniqueness.

If you don’t like something, change it. If you don’t change it, change your attitude.

I know why the caged bird sings.

Courage is fear that has said its prayers.

Talent is like electricity. We don’t understand electricity. We use it.

One isn’t necessarily born with courage, but one is born with potential. Without courage, we cannot practice any other virtue with consistency. We can’t be kind, true, merciful, generous, or honest.

I’ve learned people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.

History, despite its wrenching pain, cannot be unlived, however, if faced with courage, need not be lived again.

When you learn, teach. When you get, give.

The need for change bulldozed a road down the center of my mind.

Life loves to be taken by the lapel and told, “I’m with you kid. Let’s go.”

Leave a Reply

