Getting in Fights With Boxes

It’s cold. Really cold. But not “Minnesota-cold”. I’m riding at about 3:30pm each day. Sometimes I finish at 6:30pm. And yeah, it gets cold. And yeah, it’s dark. But it’s what I do. I ride/race/love bikes. And I’m also a student. As my “occupation” states. 14 credit hours to be exact. Not the most I have ever taken, and not the least I have ever taken. But, none-the-less, I am a full-time student. And I go to class.

Such as now, it is 6:30. An hour ago I walked back in, took a quick shower, threw on some different clothes, loaded the riding info on training peaks, and plopped down to get some homework done. And here I am, hopefully providing you with some valuable information and not wasting your time.

Durango is warming up! The snow is melting. I put away my skis. I only got out a few times this year, but in the short time that I did go skiing, I was asked if I was foreign, in one way or another, a few times, and waxed skis, which, is one of my favorite things to do. There isn’t any snow on the roads, they are drying up, and believe it or not, it was a whooping 42 degrees today.

So, what’s going on this week….school, riding, eating, sleeping…

We’ve got a group ride tomorrow with the team. Our new coaches at FLC are great. We’ve got about 12 girls, and who knows how many guys showing up for rides on the weekends, and there are also rides during the week, which are great. Unfortunately, my class schedule does not allow me to go on any of these rides, but at least I get to go out and focus on what I gotta do.

This week is also the beginning of Snowdown! It’s a big celebration in Durango, with activities of various kinds throughout the whole week. Most of which all involve a beverage of some kind, and require you to be over the age of 21, which I, am not. BUT! At the end of the week, there is a huge parade, and everyone gets dressed up in the theme of the year, which this year…is “Snowdown bites”. I still don’t have my costume. I’ll probably come up with something creative in the next day or two. That’s what the weekend is for, right? Maybe I’ll be a zombie, vampire, monster, witch, mummy, werewolf, ghost…or a ghostbuster? You never know what I’ll come up with.

Right now, I’m watching the X Games. Crazing people on snowmobiles flying way to high in the air and falling off and what not. Kind reminds me of doing plyo squat jumps. I fly up onto the box, and then, sometimes I miss, mash my shin, crack it open, and then get back up and do it again. You would think I would learn. But no, two days later I’m back at it.

Today, I went in to do my usual weight routine, and went to jump on the box, and….nothing happened. I just couldn’t do it. I wanted too, but I couldn’t. It was weird. But, I got through it, I did it. I made myself do it.

Determination prevailed today, my friends. And that seems like it will be the story of this year. Monday I will be getting my blood drawn again for another check. Make sure nothing else needs to be done. So, that is my week. Riding, lifting, sleeping, eating, and going to school. The life of a college student. But this week, we’ll throw some monster into it.

Leave a Reply

