“Black Magic” Round 1

Alright, well, now I’m sitting here on the couch.

Side effects may include:

  • muscle cramps
  • weakness, tired feeling
  • dizziness, anxiety, headache
  • nausea, vomiting, stomach pain
  • diarrhea, constipation
  • ear pain
  • sore throat, sinus pain or congestion
  • decreased sense of taste
  • joint pain
  • pain, swelling, burning, or irritation around the IV needle

So, what is this “black magic” I speak of?
Venofer Infusion. It’s an Iron Sucrose Injection. It’s black. Flowing through an IV straight into your vein as a black string of “goodness”.
Why did I get it?
Because I ran myself down so far this summer, that my legs were turning blue, my gums were white, my resting heart rate was around 80 BPM, I was hyperventilating on an “easy” ride, and I was disconnected from myself.

So, in I went into the Durango Performance Lab today at 1pm. Onto the table, and my palms started sweating…Oh my do I hate needles. There are only a few things in life that terrify me. Slingshots, the  dark, and needles.

We went through the motions. I was listed the possible side effects, the IV was put in, my blood pressure was taken, pulse, the whole works. I wasn’t really paying attention to that. I was more concerned with that needle in her hand. Long, filled with black venofer. YUM.

But, I have survived the IV, the “black magic” and I’ve made it home safely. I probably won’t move for a while. Feeling a bit sluggish, and I’ll probably be playing guitar hero the rest of the day.

This is going to be awesome though. Anything past this is positive. I’m so excited for this 2011 year. I’ve now become aware of this perpetual problem i have with being anemic, and I will make it a priority to keep myself healthy. I’ve got goals to achieve this year, and conversations have been placed to help make these happen.

Life is good. 2011 is going to be great. I’m blessed with the opportunity to help myself heal. I’m blessed with an incredible family and an incredible support system. Thank you to the Durango Performance Lab for putting up with my fear of needles, and Jen, for holding my hand. 🙂

Life is good. The sun is shining. I’ve got a warm place to sleep at night. And great friends who I’m spending break with. There’s nothing i have to ask for. My future is up to me.

And it begins, right now.

2 thoughts on ““Black Magic” Round 1

  1. You I love. You do whatever it take to take care of yourself and I admire that. Very happy to know you. To health and prosperity in 2011!

    1. Maurice,
      Health and Prosperity it is! I hope you have an excellent 2011 as well. If i head your way, I’ll be giving you a call! I need some chocolate thunder in my life!
      Missy

Leave a Reply

