Unbelievable Timing

Skiing at Andes w/Nancy, Shelley, Jorge, Keith, K-O, etc.

Alright, I’m back in Durango. After i seemed to have picked the most amazing day to fly back (MN snow storm/ CO snow storm)…I now look out the window of the “Mustache Manor” and see a blue sky, the vast amount of snow, and my, now unburied little bettle (aka the subaru).

Am i glad i went home for part of break? You better believe it. Spending Christmas with my family is not only a tradition, but it’s sort of…a way of life. It’s really important to us to spend time together, since everyone lives in different parts of minnesota, and I, the loner, off in Colorado. It’s crazy how big those kids are getting!

Mom and I

My little cousins, who are all guys, except for little Bell, are growing like weeds! And yes, they are all going to be taller than me, very soon.

I have a very supportive family. When i come home, i love answering their questions and hearing the encouragement behind it. Alexandria, being a relatively small town, is one of those places where everyone knows everyone. They know your family tree, your second cousins, what you had for breakfast. Well, not that, but you get what I’m saying.

Did i eat lefse? Oh yes. I consumed enough for you and I put together.
Apple pie. Definitely.
Lutefisk? NO.
I may be norwegian, but i don’t touch that stuff.

I did make my fill of trips to Wal-Mart, the only real place to hang out. Pete’s County Market, Eldens Food Fair. I went skiing once. I lifted some weights, you know, the usual things you do in minnesota.

 

Of course i went snowmobiling. And it was a good thing my brother was with, because i did get stuck.

Cariboudates with Alyssa. Movie with Bri, Sara, and my little brother, Mike Erickson. Many adventures were made during those few days i spent at home. And they were good. It was nice to not have a bike, not have my entire time there consumed by thoughts of riding, but more consumed with the thoughts of maximizing my time with each of my family members.

Grocery Shopping

And that brings me to the new year. I’ve begun to think about the real important things. My eyes were opened up after CX Nationals this past year. What is it that i really want to do? What am i going to do after college? More like…what do i want to do? What’s going to help me get there.

So, what am i going to do? Take care of myself mentally, physically, and spiritually. To put my goals and aspirations first. So, that’s what I’m going to be doing. First and foremost.

I’m excited to be riding for a new team. To have great support for this season. And shoot for the moon, but most importantly, to have fun, live life, and be brave.

I pulled into Durango yesterday, after many delays with my flights, around 10pm. My car was more than buried in snow, in which, i very willingly rescued it this morning from it’s blanket of 2 feet of snow. The good thing about snow in Colorado is that its light and dry. Easy to shovel compared the the thick MN snow. It’s nice to be back, hanging with friends. Now, to get my skis out of my dorm. That will be an interesting adventure if it happens.

Until next time, Minnesota. 6 months and I’ll be back. But next time, I’m bringing the car, and my bike, and maybe, some friends.

One thought on “Unbelievable Timing

  1. I wish you were still here for another caribou date! I wish you the best of luck with training and a new semester with school! Work hard and have fun! I hope I can make my way out to visit sometime this spring… depending on the weather. Although you are so far away (feels like billions of miles) I am glad you keep a blog! I get to see what my bff is up to! You are a great friend and I can’t wait to see how far you go in life!!! love you!

Leave a Reply

