International Extravaganza Numero Uno

It’s arrived. Tomorrow I will getting my first stamp on my passport, traveling to my first international race, first Pan Am championships, first use of my UCI ┬álicense, and first time pinning a number to my very own US national team skinsuit. What more could a girl ask for?

The lead up to this race hasn’t been smooth. Mental breakdowns, physical breakdowns, my grandmother is in the hospital, plans falling through, emergency plan B’s….always something. I’m incredibly blessed to have a strong family that can get together, include me in phone calls through to my grandma since I can’t be there with her right now. I’m blessed to have a boss that allows me to take time off work to prepare for this trip, as well as going on this trip. It’s hard to find support like this. I have amazing sponsors, Atomic High Performance, CNP Professional Sports Nutrition, Good Karma Racing, and Tri Pacific, who have helped me get where I am right now, with the opportunity to race along side Maddie Godby in the 500m, Team Sprint, Match Sprints, and Keirin.

538989_525658004123476_1005941667_n
Maddie and I, training, being silly, enjoying life.

Despite what’s been going on in my life, I’m excited. Not nervous, not yet. I haven’t had time to get nervous. I’m excited to get out of LA! Excited to not drive 150 miles a day. Excited to rock some races, and go for some records. I’m excited to see all my hard work pay off, and represent my country. I’m excited to be chasing my dreams, and taking my first steps forward.

It’s hard to believe that I’m where I’m at. One year ago I was racing road for Fort Lewis College. Nine months ago, I moved to LA, and did a 12.8 200m, which I’m sure was less than impressive to Jamie Staff. And now, I’m on the national team. Wow. Excited doesn’t even begin to explain.

I’m thankful for my family, friends, supporters, sponsors, coaches…everyone who has encouraged, supported, given me some words of advice, and helped me get here. This hasn’t been an easy journey, and I’ve made it because of the encouragement, determination, and support of everyone.

Please say a few prayers for my grandmother. I have no idea what my internet situation will be, but I will try to keep everyone updated as much as possible. Upon my return, I’ll have plenty of pictures to share, things to talk about, and hopefully some good results to brag about.

Off on a trip with some of the coolest people I know, how can this not be fun? Thanks again. I love you all.

5 thoughts on “International Extravaganza Numero Uno

Leave a Reply

